S.Valentine – Music I Love / Book Playlists.

musicFor the blog challenge topic, it’s about music I love. This is hard for me as I LOVE music so much that I have notes tattooed on my waist. I like most genre’s, and although I like some chart music, I’d rather listen to none commercial music. Underground garage, speed garage, bassline house, jackin house I really like. From Birmingham, in the UK, these genre’s are hugely popular! We have warehouse parties every weekend, and then there are the normal clubs and bars. DJ’s are huge in Brum.

Other music I like, which some songs can be on the commercial side is pop, rock, reggae, hip-hop, and I LOVE hardhouse. I even like a bit of opera. And a tiny bit of drum & bass here and there, it all depends on my mood.

For every book that I write, I have a playlist. This is either the music I listened to whilst writing the book, or the music that appeared in the book. Book playlists can take me hours to put together. I have to ensure that the song fits perfectly to the scene, or the character. For example, Darion Milano in The Black Door Trilogy owns a club which plays rock music. He therefore also listens to rock music in his car. The playlist for those books are classic rock songs, mostly from the early years.

Sons Of Anarchy had an amazing rock playlist! That is a soundtrack that I can listen to over and over. Oh, also the Dirty Dancing & Pretty Woman soundtrack (so romantic!)

I have too many favourite songs to jot down, but if you flip to the back page of my books you will find some of them in there.

My chick-lit novel has kick-ass girl power songs, whereas my summer story has house music.

Here are some artists I love: Eminem, Collie Buddz, Bob Markey, UB40, Maxi Priest, Lionel Ritchie, Stevie Wonder, Barrington Levy, Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Prodigy, Chase & Status, and I love Britney and Christina of course, how could you not?! The Weeknd, Black Sabbath, Nine Inch Nails, Guns N Roses, My Darkest Days, Muse, Depeche Mode, Linkin Park…Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Adele, Madonna! Tiesto, Paul Oakenfold, Tidy Boys, Lisa Lashes, Anne Savage, and too many more!

What music are you into?

Join this blog challenge and hashtag #LifeBooksWriting  – S.Valentine.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

