Elizabeth Butts – Singleish

singleish2

BOOK: Singleish
AUTHOR: Elizabeth Butts
RELEASE DATE: May 22, 2015

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Singleish is the first book by indie author, Elizabeth Butts.

 

Singleish is all about Ashley, a woman who had gotten comfortable in her perfectly planned out life when it all blows up on her. The love of her life decided he needed a break. Wallowing in self-pity, ice cream and tons of wine; she and her crazy friend concoct a plan to help Ashley get her groove (and maybe her man) back.

Singleish is a very light and easy read, filled with humor that will have you smiling cover to cover. It might get you a little misty eyed here and there, but mostly smiles.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Elizabeth Butts is a 38 year old new author who only started writing in January 2015.

She lives in West Wareham, MA with her husband, Mike, and their twelve animals. No, she has never seen the show ‘Hoarders’ and doesn’t understand why people keep asking her that.

She has been an avid reader since the age of three, and her mom always said she expected Beth would write a book.

A little gentle nudging (aka, serious kicking and shoving) from writer A. E. Murphy and Singleish was born.

One year after Singleish was started, Secondhand Purses is being published.

Elizabeth works full time as a Payroll and Benefits Manager for a popular restaurant company in Massachusetts, as well as a part time HR Manager for an Executive Functional Coaching company near Boston. She volunteers at a local animal shelter.

LINKS GALORE!

Goodreads link for Singleish: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25538484-singleish#other_reviews

Goodreads link for Elizabeth Butts: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13984502.Elizabeth_Butts

Amazon Author Page: amazon.com/author/elizabethbutts

Purchase links for Singleish (on Amazon):

US: http://amzn.com/B00XK4G70K
UK:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00XK4G70K
AU:
http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B00XK4G70K
CA:
http://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00XK4G70K

FB Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/ElizabethButtsAuthor

Blog/Website: http://elizabethbuttsauthor.wordpress.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/ebutts422

BLURB:

Ashley MacKillop has it all figured out. She has her boyfriend, a house, a good (if not exciting job). Everything is going according to plan, and everything is fitting into the nice, tidy, neat-freak boxes she’s created for herself.

Until he walks away. Until he says he needs a break. Until he says he’s done. But he forgot to break up with her. Was she part of a couple anymore? Was she single?

A red-wine fueled therapy session with her three closest friends has Ashley trying all sorts of things that force her to break out of her comfort zone and figure out who she is when there’s no man involved.

In the end, what defines a woman? Is it the man she’s with? Is it the friends she keeps? Is it the copious amounts of red wine that she consumes? Or is it who she is when no one is watching?

Will she decide she needs a man in her life? Will she even want him back if he were to come back?

BANNER TAG LINE:

Four friends, some wine and a plan. What could possibly go wrong?

EXCERPT:

Laughing I stood up, and quietly started emptying our cooler. I ran out to the ocean and filled it with the cool water of the Atlantic Ocean. Quietly tiptoeing back, I stood so that I was between my friends. In a quick move I poured the icy water on all three of them, laughing at their shrieks as I threw the cooler away and started running.

I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but I’m pretty sure I heard the word “war”.

As I was running, I managed to run smack into a brick wall. Or, at least that’s what it felt like. When my back hit the sand I hissed, it was unreal how hot white sand could get. I looked, shading my eyes and almost wet myself. I was pretty darned certain that the vision that was before me, reaching out his hand, had posed for Michelangelo and boasted the name of David. It was an hallelujah moment where I swear the angels were singing in the background. Opening my eyes I saw turquoise eyes, blond hair and muscles. Oh, so many muscles. My lady parts started singing the Hallelujah Chorus along with the angels. My lady parts seemed to have a mind of their own these days, and apparently they could sing in harmony. It turned out that I had run into the frat boy volleyball game. Mental happy dance.

My brick wall winked at me, and started to help me up. I won’t lie, I did the damsel in distress thing. Limp hand raised up to my knight in shining speedo. I was expecting sweeping kiss, one that transported me to another place and time. I was expecting an invitation to dinner, a wine and dine experience, that might possibly (would most definitely) end up in naked wrestling in the bedroom. I should be exhibiting some level of shame. I couldn’t even begin to issue a summons for that shame right now. But then, my handsome ‘David’ looked up, his face went pale, and instead of whispering ‘mi amore’ he shouted “holy shit!” Okay, that did not fit into my fantasy. I tipped my head back, opened one eye and was treated to an upside down, monocle vision of my friends charging towards me. I was screwed.

I felt myself pulled away from my handsome frat boy, my arms being pulled towards the water. Damn, those women were strong. Opening my eyes I saw Prince Charming waving goodbye to me somewhat sheepishly. I flipped him off. Bad Prince Charming.

Leave a Reply

