Author Interview: Lucy Felthouse

lucy-3

Lucy Felthouse is the award-winning author of erotic romance novels Stately Pleasures (named in the top 5 of Cliterati.co.uk’s 100 Modern Erotic Classics That You’ve Never Heard Of, and an Amazon bestseller), Eyes Wide Open (winner of the Love Romances Café’s Best Ménage Book 2015 award, and an Amazon bestseller) and The Persecution of the Wolves. Including novels, short stories and novellas, she has over 150 publications to her name.

She owns Erotica For All, and is one eighth of The Brit Babes. Find out more about her writing at http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk, or on Twitter or Facebook. Sign up for automatic updates on Amazon or BookBub. You can also subscribe to her monthly newsletter at: http://eepurl.com/gMQb9

lucy_felthouse-2

1.What got you into writing / what made you sit down and actually start something? I’ve been writing ever since I could, I think. I was a voracious reader from a very young age, and this just translated over to writing, too. I was forever scribbling away in notebooks, making up stories and send characters on wild adventures. I really wish I still had those notebooks, I think it’d be pretty fascinating to read what my young self conjured up!

2.What is a usual writing day like for you, how is it structured?  I don’t really have usual writing days. I don’t write full-time—I’m self-employed and my full-time job is made up of lots of little jobs, i.e. writing, editing, running my business (http://www.writermarketing.co.uk). Since I have to eat, the paid work must take priority, so if things get hectic my writing often takes a back seat, sadly, but I still get a fair amount of books out.

3.Do you get writers block? If so, how do you overcome it? Not really, no. I tend to find I have way more ideas than time allows for. Sometimes I slow down or pause at certain parts of a story that I can’t seem to get right, but I always figure it out in the end. Looming deadlines often help to spur me along!

4.Are you a plotter or pantser when it comes to writing a story? It depends on the story. For short stories and most novellas, I’m a pantser. I just have a vague story idea in my head, start writing and see where it goes. But for novels I tend to be a bit more structured. I guess it depends on how complex the plot of the book is. I often make notes as I go along to ensure consistency—i.e. the spelling of character names, what they look like (nothing like changing their eye or hair colour half way through the book!), whether a certain character can’t stand coffee, and so on.

5.Are you traditionally or self-published? Both. I work with multiple publishers and also self-publish books, too. I find it gives me the freedom that I enjoy. Sometimes it can be a challenge, though, when, because of different lead times, books from different publishers or self-publishing projects end up releasing very close together! 

6. What was the publishing process like for you? Any advice to aspiring authors?
I think I ended up being in the right place, at the right time. Very early on, I got some advice on markets for erotica, and aimed for them. I got short stories published in a couple of magazines, then a paperback book. It seemed to spiral from there, really. Advice to aspiring authors is: learn to edit your own work, read lots in your chosen genre, and don’t give up!

7.What has been your highlight since becoming a published author? There are lots of highlights, really. The first ever publication, the first print publication, the first solo publication, the publication of my first full-length novel… Hitting personal milestones has been awesome. I’ve also met some fantastic friends along the way, and we support each other and keep each other going when sometimes we feel like giving up.

8.Can you share a little of your most recent book with us, including genre and targeted audience?  My latest release is a co-authored M/F erotic romance novel called The Billionaire and the Wild Man. I wrote it with my friend, fellow author Victoria Blisse. Here’s a snippet from the very beginning:

I’m busy minding my own business, clearing up litter in a field on the outskirts of Hartington when what can only be described as a crazy woman appears, seemingly from nowhere. She’s all wild-eyed, and her blonde hair looks damp. Her outfit is unremarkable, except for the fact she’s got nothing on her feet. Bright red toenails seem massively out of place in this rural village. She seems out of place. I’m not sure why I think this, but somehow, she just doesn’t appear to belong. So what the hell is she doing here? Normally, I steer clear of other folk unless it’s absolutely necessary, but this woman looks like she needs help. Serious help. If she’s crossed the road with her feet like that, then they’re going to be scratched to buggery, maybe even cut. Taking a deep breath, I chuck the empty crisp packet I’ve been holding into my rubbish bag. Then I place it next to the tree I’m standing beside and step out into the woman’s path. I’m used to people not seeing me—or behaving like they haven’t seen me, anyway—so I’m not surprised when she lets out a shriek that could wake the dead and freezes in front of me.

“Hey, hey,” I say gently, holding my hands up placatingly. “It’s okay. I’m not going to hurt you. I just wanted to come and see if you were all right. I can’t help but notice you’re not wearing any shoes. You’re not hurt, are you?” The concern in my voice confuses me, but then my brain catches up.

If this chick is so desperate to get away that she’s gone without shoes, then something’s wrong. Seriously wrong. I look around, half-expecting to see an angry husband chasing after her, or maybe even a shopkeeper. She could be a thief. Glancing at her again, I realize that can’t possibly be the case, unless she’s stolen something invisible. All she has are the clothes on her back. She still hasn’t spoken, so I try again, attempting to make myself appear friendly, welcoming. Not an easy thing when you’re over six feet tall and pretty wide, too. Also, the fact I haven’t had a change of clothes, shave, or a haircut for a while won’t help. I wouldn’t blame her if she ran away, to be honest. I must look a fright, but I haven’t peered into a mirror—or even a window—for a good few days, so I can’t be sure.

“Sweetheart, please answer me. Are you hurt? Is there someone after you?” She looks around, then back at me. Shakes her head. I’m confused—if there’s no one after her, why did she look behind her?

It’s available here: http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk/published-works/the-billionaire-and-the-wild-man/  

9.What tip would you give to new authors when trying to build a fan-base / get followers and market their books? (What to do and what not to do.) Honestly, I don’t think there’s a simple answer to this question. Different things work for different people in different genres. I’ve had friends swear by certain methods, which I’ve then tried out and found them not to work. A good start, though, is to have a decent website and start building a brand on social media. It also depends on how much of a budget someone has. 

10.How long on average does it take you to write a book? It tends to vary, really. Obviously much of the answer depends on the length of the book. But if we’re talking novel-length, then it depends on the complexity. It took me a while to write my first book, because I was nervous and unsure if I could actually do it. My second I started during NaNoWriMo a couple of years ago and had it finished by the end of the January, but it was a much longer, much more complex book. My third book I wrote in six weeks! Mainly because I’d floated the idea to the publisher—they liked it and asked if I could get it written by a certain time—eek! 

11.Tell us about the book cover/s, how the designing came about, whether you had much input etc.  Again, this varies. It depends on the publisher and the artist. Publishers tend to have cover art forms where you can give information on what you want or don’t want on your cover. Some are more detailed than others, and you’re always led by the cover artist’s interpretation. I’m lucky to have worked with some incredibly skilled artists. For self-publishing you have much more say, but it’s still important to pick a good artist. I’m very lucky in that regard. 

12.Apart from writing, what do you do in your spare time? Spare time? What’s spare time? LOL. This year I’ve been doing a lot of decorating and home improvement, a necessary evil. I’ll be glad when it’s done. I also love reading, watching films and TV, jigsaws, knitting, walking my dog, spending time in the countryside and visiting historic properties like stately homes, castles, stone circles, etc.


1940s-signing

Meet Lucy Felthouse at:

The West Midlands Book Signing & 1940’s Ball!

The following authors will be there signing books, giving out swag, raffle prizes and other cool stuff! Afterwards there’s a 1940’s ball, complete with a singer!

DATE AND TIME
Sat 4 February 2017

10:30 – 23:30 GMT

LOCATION
Casey’s, Cordingley Hall, Telford, TF2 8JS, United Kingdom

Tickets can be purchased here: http://bit.ly/2gM5P0A

Facebook page: http://bit.ly/2husiTC

One thought on “Author Interview: Lucy Felthouse

Leave a Reply

