Author Interview – Holly J Gill

 

holly2Holly is a wife, to Nigel, a mum of three and a nana to twins. She lives in the UK in a town called Grimsby. Holly J. Gill is an indie author, who enjoys writing romance in several genre’s and this is where she spends most of her time, and writes wherever her wild imagination takes her. In Holly’s spare time she loves spending quality time with her family, camping, visiting her favourite historic city York, reading, listening to music and travelling around the breath taking landscape of England and seeing friends.

1.What got you into writing / what made you sit down and actually start something? I have been writing since I was a young child. I always remember having a wild imagination.

2.What is a usual writing day like for you, how is it structured? A writing day for me is broke down. I start by doing tonnes of promoting and then start working on whatever manuscript I’m on at that moment. I take a break, make banners, more promoting, back to writing or editing. Then in the afternoon I intend to catch up on housework, prepare the family tea and the evenings is back to my books.

3.Do you get writers block? If so, how do you overcome it? No, I have never struggled with writing block.

4.Are you a plotter or pantser when it comes to writing a story? Panster, I allow the story to take hold as I’m writing. I never know which direction the characters will take me.

5.Are you traditionally or self-published? I use to be with a publisher until they closed their doors. I am self-published and love it.

6. What was the publishing process like for you? Any advice to aspiring authors? The publishing process can be long and impatient. I find since being self-published you pay out all the time, editors, proof readers, and book covers, but truthfully it’s worth it, especially if you find the right editor. Advice to aspiring authors, write, write, write, re-write and when trying to find an editor choose several and find one who works best with you. It is a long process but the rewards are amazing.

7.What has been your highlight since becoming a published author? Having a fan coming and screaming to me at a book signing, she was overwhelmed to meet me.

8.Can you share a little of your most recent book with us, including genre and targeted audience?My recent published works which came out in June. This book is erotica, so if you like naughty phone sex then this is for you. This book is about how we preserve people, how we judge before actually getting to know the person, assuming one thing when it transpires to be something so different. And you both end up helping each other out in different ways.

9.What tip would you give to new authors when trying to build a fan-base / get followers and market their books? (What to do and what not to do.) Set up on all social media sites, twitter, author page, google +, blog and make website, For a blog start the process of interacting with authors invite them to your blog, use other social media to start getting your name out there, favourite blogs, promoters, build up an archive so when you’re ready with your book, you can contact them and get your book out there. Stalk authors, watch what they do, and how they do it. Attend book signings it all gives you an insider. What not to do, bug authors, don’t pester them, I had one who mailed me constantly while I was trying to write, It got on my nerves. Guidance I can do, but not constant.

10.How long on average does it take you to write a book? That depends on my private life, with my being a wife, mum, nana and working part-time. However, if the characters are talking, the most a book will take in draft is 2-6 weeks.

11.Tell us about the book cover/s, how the designing came about, whether you had much input etc. I have a wonderful cover artist who…well she just knows by my descriptions what I want. Some I have brought from her already made, but one she’s custom made and I love it.

12.Apart from writing, what do you do in your spare time? I enjoy travelling around England, I love camping, me and hubby have a particular site we visit, where believe it or not some of my best writing gets done. I enjoy family time (always precious), reading, being with friends, visiting stately homes and castles.

Feel free to include your: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Blog.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hollyjgillauthor?ref=hl

Adult Romance Blog: http://hollyjgill.blogspot.co.uk/?zx=f2e385466a448927

Twitter: https://twitter.com/HollyJGill

 Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/107879443337932231480

  Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6860426.Holly_J_Gill

 Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/gill0839/

Meet Holly at:

The West Midlands Book Signing & 1940’s Ball!

The following authors will be there signing books, giving out swag, raffle prizes and other cool stuff! Afterwards there’s a 1940’s ball, complete with a singer!

DATE AND TIME
Sat 4 February 2017

10:30 – 23:30 GMT

LOCATION
Casey’s, Cordingley Hall, Telford, TF2 8JS, United Kingdom

Tickets can be purchased here: http://bit.ly/2gM5P0A

Facebook page: http://bit.ly/2husiTC

1940s-signing

Leave a Reply

