Author Interview – Natalie Nicole Bates

nat1.jpg

Natalie-Nicole Bates is a book reviewer and author. Her passions in life include books and hockey along with Victorian photography, Frozen Charlotte dolls, and antique poison bottles. Natalie contributes her uncharacteristic love of hockey to being born in Russia. She currently resides in the UK where she is working on her next book and adding to her collection of 19th century post-mortem photos. Visit Natalie online at http://www.natalienicolebates.com

1.What got you into writing / what made you sit down and actually start something? I’ve always had a passion for writing since I was about six years old. I became a reviewer many years ago, and one day I realized that I could do this, too. That is when I started to seriously write.

2.What is a usual writing day like for you, how is it structured? I’m not a full time writer by choice. With quite a few books out now I spend a part of my afternoons promoting and answering email. I do my writing at night.

3.Do you get writers block? If so, how do you overcome it? I don’t get what would be considered typical ‘writer’s block’. I do get into funks where I will not write for long periods of time. It’s just something I have to break in my own time. I would rather be passionate about what I’m writing rather than putting words on a page just to stay productive.

4.Are you a plotter or pantser when it comes to writing a story? I’ve always been a plotter. I like to know I’m going to have enough material for my story. I want to know where it is going and have a timeline written up. Lately, I’ve been writing even more detailed synopsis’ and finding it much easier for my words to flow.

5.Are you traditionally or self-published? Traditionally.

6. What was the publishing process like for you? Any advice to aspiring authors? I was very fortunate in 2010 when I first submitted my work to have it accepted right away. I enjoy working with publishers who are as passionate about my books as I am. For any new writer, my advice is always the same – Take a comprehensive course from a reputable source that will teach you how to structure a novel from the idea to the end. I cannot tell you how many times as an author and reviewer I’ve seen new authors fall down on important things such as point of view.

7.What has been your highlight since becoming a published author? I’ve had a few of my books shortlisted for industry awards and I’ve recently placed in a horror writing competition.

8.Can you share a little of your most recent book with us, including genre and targeted audience? My most recent release is a contemporary romance called Sometimes in Autumn. It’s targeted to a reader who likes a solid romance with a happily ever after and some spice without being erotic.

9.What tip would you give to new authors when trying to build a fan-base / get followers and market their books? (What to do and what not to do.) Promote, promote, promote. Rely on yourself to get your name out there. Never, ever promote in another author’s space or event, or where promotion is prohibited. It not only annoys people, it will get blacklisted. There are plenty of places to promote your work. You know your story the best, who better to tell the world about it?

10.How long on average does it take you to write a book? Hard to say. It depends on the length and my workload. Generally, anywhere from 4-6 months.

11.Tell us about the book cover/s, how the designing came about, whether you had much input etc. I always try to have input into my covers. No one understands my story or characters like me, so I try to provide as much input as I can without being annoying. I think publishers welcome input from their authors. I know on a personal level, I find it’s a much happier process to promote a book where I am happy with all aspects of the publishing process, including the cover. After all, the cover is usually the first thing a potential reader sees.

12.Apart from writing, what do you do in your spare time? I enjoy collecting Victorian photography, Frozen Charlotte Dolls, and Antique poison bottles.

Feel free to include your: Website, Facebook, Twitter, Blog. Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/Natalie-NicoleTwitter: @BatesNatalie   https://twitter.com/BatesNatalieFacebook: https://www.facebook.com/NNBates/Blog: http://www.natalienicolebates.comStreet Team Sign Up: https://www.facebook.com/groups/441841792565396/Amazon Author Central Pagehttp://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0071MP0DC

Leave a Reply

