Author Interview! Abigail Davies

exposed-ebookNew Adult and Contemporary romance author Abigail Davies grew up with a passion for words, storytelling and anything pink. Dreaming up characters and talking to them out loud is a daily occurrence for Abigail. She finds it fascinating how a whole world can be built with words alone, and how everyone reads a story differently. Now following her dreams of writing, Abigail has set out on the crazy journey of being an author. When she’s not writing, she’s a mother to two daughters who she encourages to use their imagination as she believes that it’s a magical thing. Abigail loves to get lost in a good book and is rarely far away from her kindle.

1.What got you into writing / what made you sit down and actually start something? I always wanted to write since I was a little girl. I’d tried for several years to start a book and I’d get twenty thousand words in and it’d float away. One day this story came to me and it felt different than all the others. It was a need. I NEEDED to write it. The ideas kept coming and the characters started to go crazy in my head so I just wrote. It was a magical feeling having the NEED to write.

2.What is a usual writing day like for you, how is it structured? First I check my emails and then I refer to my list. I plan the day out the night before so I go by my list. I usually catch up with any formatting that I need to do, close any giveaways and send the prizes and then I get into my writing sprints. I turn everything off, facebook, notifications, everything and I time myself for an hour and I just write. I think it’s important to turn yourself off from social media because it can become a black hole and you can get stuck inside it for hours. I normally do several sprints a day and it can be on various projects that I have going on. At the moment I have three projects going and I’m loving how they are turning out.

3.Do you get writers block? If so, how do you overcome it? There have been times that I can’t seem to get the right words when I’m writing. My process is simple. I write through it. It doesn’t matter if what I’m writing isn’t good. It’s better to have some words down that you can build upon and shape than to have nothing.

4.Are you a plotter or pantser when it comes to writing a story? A plotter, all the way. I have several different notebooks on the go, currently I have about fifteen. I like to know roughly where I’m going but my scene lists always change the further into the story I get and then I make new lists etc I tried being a panster once and let’s just say, it didn’t work out.

5.Are you traditionally or self-published? Self-published but I’d love to be a hybrid and have my work traditional published. It’s one of my goals and I’m determined to get there.

6.What was the publishing process like for you? Any advice to aspiring authors? The whole process was a massive learning curve. From finding the cover, to editors to getting your name out there. My advice would be to make friends in the book community. I’ve made some lifelong friends in this community and the best thing? They get you, they get the voices in your head and they get the need to write. Listen to people’s advice but also go with your gut. What is right for one author and works for them doesn’t necessarily mean it’ll work for you. We all have our own process and it’s about finding yours. But most of all, cherish your love of writing. Celebrate every little goal. Just finished that first draft? Celebrate, even if it’s rewarding yourself with a glass of wine and a good movie.

7.What has been your highlight since becoming a published author? My highlights are definitely the messages that I get from readers and bloggers, and meeting so many amazing people.

abi.JPG

8.Can you share a little of your most recent book with us, including genre and targeted audience? My latest book that I published was called FLYING FREE and it’s a spin off on my main series that can be read as a standalone. It’s about Ava, a girl who is struggling after a traumatic experience and Corey who is in the Special Forces. I don’t want to say too much because it will definitely spoil the whole story. It does have dark elements to it and scenes that people will find upsetting but at its heart, it’s a love story about a woman who is finding herself and getting through a really hard time and a man who wants to be there for her but has found is difficult due to being away so long.

9.What tip would you give to new authors when trying to build a fan-base / get followers and market their books? (What to do and what not to do.) Don’t send people friend requests and then invite them to like your page, OR what I’ve had done to me is, I’ve been friend requested by an author and they’ve sent me a message linking their book etc. As a reader, both of those things put me off. You need to build relationships with authors, bloggers, readers. Not fake relationships, but real friendships. I always ask myself the same question, if I was a reader and this happened to me/ I saw this post, how would I feel?

10.How long on average does it take you to write a book? My first draft usually takes about a month and then I spend two months editing, proofreading etc. But it really does depend on what else I have going on. If I have a lot of formatting to do then it can take longer, if my girls are on school holidays that also means it can take longer.

11.Tell us about the book cover/s, how the designing came about, whether you had much input etc. My first book cover was a premade that a graphic designer made. My second, I purchased an image from a photographer and had a cover made and my third, I purchased an image and made the cover myself.

12.Apart from writing, what do you do in your spare time? If I’m not writing then I’m usually making images for teasers or formatting. But away from work, I love to spend time with my two daughters, watch marvel movies with my husband and my current obsession is ‘say yes to the dress’. I also love binge watching Netflix or Amazon, but most of all, I LOVE to read!

www.facebook.com/abigaildaviesauthor

www.twitter.com/abigailadavies

www.instagram.com/abigaildaviesauthor

www.abigaildaviesauthor.com

www.facebook.com/allthefeelspr

flying-free-ebook-jpegfractured-lies-ebook

Leave a Reply

