Author Interview: Hakima

hakima1Hakima was born in Morocco, North Africa. She has always been fond of writing since she was a kid. She has eventually decided to be an author. Her first book is called The Pursuit of Wisdom.

I am twenty two so I cannot really give the typical biography because my profile will be constantly changing. In terms of studies, I am a graduate in translation.

1.What got you into writing / what made you sit down and actually start something?I am literary by vocation and I always loved to write than to speak. It is just that simple. I used to write in French and Arabic but when I met with the English language, I fell head over heels, and started writing starting from a personal diary to some prose and then to short stories. I frankly felt the urge to express myself since the pen and paper were my drugs for so many years, and will be for the years to come.

2.What is a usual writing day like for you, how is it structured? I cannot lie and say that my life is structured and neither are my days but in general, I don’t even move from a room to another in the house without my pen and notebook. You never know, any word that has a special musicality or a quote or a scene, I jot down anything I think about. That’s my friend. I am an owl person, so I definitely feel calm since everybody is sleeping. I just love the freedom that I get at night.

3.Do you get writers block? If so, how do you overcome it?No writer, either an aspiring or a full-time writer will deny the absence of the block. Personally, I get writers block almost all the time. The only thing that I do and seems to work is to leave everything, do another activity like going out and release that stress. Then, I go back to work.

4.Are you traditionally or self-published? I am self-published  

5. What was the publishing process like for you? Any advice to aspiring authors?
It was exciting, costy and difficult since you utterly do all the work from A to Z.Another thing is the target. Know your audience and building a network is a must.The ultimate and most important advice is to believe in you no matter what. If you believe that you work is worth it, then it will pay off. However, patience is all welcomed for this industry is as commercial and competitive as the entertainment business.

6.What has been your highlight since becoming a published author?I am still looking for my genre. Currently, I intend to try several genres and then focus on the one I most identify myself with.

7.Can you share a little of your most recent book with us, including genre and targeted audience? The second book is a short story called Pandora’s Box: All in the Same Boat-Hakima.The age of readers range from teens to infinity.It’s pure literay fiction. I tried to tackle a topic on the buzz, of illegal immigration. It is simple and of mild language.

8.What tip would you give to new authors when trying to build a fan-base / get followers and market their books? (What to do and what not to do.)The one thing I mostly regret and surely was not familiar with is promoting the book way before it is launched.

9.How long on average does it take you to write a book?I just started and obviously the two books I have written are like an introduction.It did not take that much of time since it is just the appetizer, it’s as if you are creating a brand, you need first to create a name, an identity and a label. That’s exactly what I am doing.

10.Tell us about the book cover/s, how the designing came about, whether you had much input etc. One plus for the self- publishing industry is that it gives you the entire freedom to always have the last word. I am satisfied with the book cover’s design because the publishing company followed my instructions and gave me the intended design.

11.Apart from writing, what do you do in your spare time?I dream. Literally, I dream about being a philanthropist and invest my money on charity and good deeds. I am not saying that to give the impression of being good, but that has always been part of my plans. ( First, I need to upgrade my status from poor to financially independent then to wealthy.)I am full time free thinker and would love to be my own boss.In terms of business, I am thinking about opening a literary café because we need to have people around a table not to gossip or argue but to open a debate, a cultural discussion to feel more civil. That’s part of being called a human and a global citizen.

I have a temporary Facebook page: Hakima author

Leave a Reply

