Denying Mr Parks – Lilly James

denyingBlurb: Evelyn Banks is her own worst enemy…

A recovering alcoholic, the key to Evelyn’s continuing sobriety is to remain focused and controlled. She finally has her life on track with a new job at a law firm, but her world is shaken when she meets the firm’s gorgeous, charming, dominant CEO.

Wade Parks asks for only one thing—to be obeyed…

Wade’s perfect world is one of discipline and obedience. When he encounters his firm’s new employee, he begins a cat-and-mouse game in his pursuit of the feisty and independent Evelyn, determined to break through her cold demeanor and give her the discipline he’s sure she craves.

Evelyn is willing to submit to his dominance, but her emotions are another matter…

Both of Evelyn’s parents were addicts, incapable of giving her the slightest bit of affection, and she’s not equipped to deal with the rush of powerful emotions her relationship with Mr. Parks unleashes. So she turns to the only solace she knows—numbing her feelings with alcohol.

He sees past Evelyn’s flaws, but some secrets hit too close to home…

Just as Evelyn’s heart begins to thaw, Mr. Parks is reminded of his own troubled upbringing and he pulls away, leaving her feeling abandoned.

But another very real danger is lurking, and Evelyn might be very wrong about the source of the threat…

Can she be saved by denying Mr. Parks?

Or is submitting to him the only way to save them both?

Review: Lilly’s debut novel is perfect for fans of Fifty Shades Of Grey. If you’re after intriguing damaged characters, a bit of BDSM, sexy scenes, & a rich handsome CEO, then this is the book for you. It was refreshing to read the woman being the character with the issues,& damaged past, rather than the man. Evey is troubled and can’t let anyone in. Meeting Wade, who refuses to back away, starts to make her believe that maybe she can have something happy and real after all. Until he learns of her past. Evey is a strong but damaged character, & Wade is persistent. I’m hoping Evey gets her happy ever after. Everybody deserves a second chance, & beneath the layers, she’s a scared vulnerable girl. Great writing style, nicely paced. Looking forward to book two.

Advertisements