High Heels In New York – A.V Scott

HHBlurb: A romance best seller in 2013 and 2014, High Heels in New York is the first book in the High Heels Fashion series that weaves together suspense, love, and betrayal within the lives of two best friends.

Melissa De La Rosa has never felt luckier. She is to marry her ideal man, and about to launch her shoe line during the coveted fashion week in New York. But in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart when tragedy strikes, unleashing a string of events she never in her wildest dreams anticipated.

Then there’s Angelina, is a Hollywood has-been who can’t break her addiction to drugs, which she basically needs to actually function. Banking on her latest picture to launch her back into Hollywood royalty, a long kept secret vows to destroy the life she’s so carefully crafted.

In the city that never sleeps, secrets are never truly hidden.

Review: This glamorous thriller is perfect for fans of Jackie Collins, Rebecca Chance, Victoria Fox and Anna-Lou Weatherley. The characters are larger than life, with realistic personalities. Angie and Melissa in particular are extremely entertaining, the sort of friends you’d love to go for a cocktail with-funny, gossipy, and not to mention the hilarious one-liners throughout the whole book. No spoilers, but a murder takes place, and you’re left with the ‘whodunnit’ question in your head. The book isn’t predicable, so you may have no idea who committed the murder. I like Angie and Melissa so I am rooting for their happily ever afters, and I really hope that they both find love, or at least contentment with their lives, both personally and career-wise. I would read the other books in this authors series, for sure. P.S. This does end on a cliffhanger, but you WILL want to know what happens.